India vs New Zealand: Security tightened at Wankhede stadium following threat from unidentified person

Mumbai Police has increased security measures at Wankhede Stadium on Wednesday ahead of the highly anticipated cricket match between India and New Zealand, following a threat from an unidentified individual.

An unidentified person, in a post on X (formerly Twitter), had warned of a potential incident during the much-anticipated cricket match between India and New Zealand. The anonymous post, which tagged Mumbai Police, featured an image containing a gun, hand grenades, and bullets, prompting heightened vigilance in and around the stadium.

“A person, whose identity remains unknown, posted a threat message directed at Mumbai Police on X (formerly Twitter), suggesting a malicious incident during the India vs. New Zealand match at Wankhede Stadium today. Stringent security measures are being implemented in the vicinity of the stadium and surrounding areas. The individual had mentioned Mumbai Police in the post and included a photo featuring a gun, hand grenades, and bullets,” stated a Mumbai Police official.

Meanwhile, the police has arrested a 17-year-old youth from Latur district in connection with the Twitter post.

“Mumbai Crime Branch detained a 17-year-old youth from Latur district. Why did he post the threat message is yet to be ascertained,” Mumbai Police said today.

The semi-final match is eagerly anticipated, with India facing New Zealand in the first semifinal of the ICC Cricket World Cup at Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai. While the Kiwis aim to reach their third successive World Cup final, India is determined to overcome the knockout obstacle that has hindered them from winning a major ICC title since 2013. This challenge is intensified as they face a team that has historically posed significant challenges in must-win matches.India’s squad includes Rohit Sharma (c), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ishan Kishan, Prasidh Krishna, and Suryakumar Yadav.The New Zealand squad consists of Kane Williamson (c), Trent Boult, Mark Chapman, Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson, Kyle Jamieson, Tom Latham, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Rachin Ravindra, Mitch Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, and Will Young.

Denial of responsibility! is an automatic aggregator around the global media. All the content are available free on Internet. We have just arranged it in one platform for educational purpose only. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials on our website, please contact us by email – at The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Read original article here

Leave A Reply