Silver Ferns unveil 2023/24 squads with an eye to the future

Amelia Walmsley of the Pulse.

The 2023/24 Silver Ferns squad has been announced, headlined by the inclusion of 19-year-old shooter Amelia Walmsley and defenders Kate Burley and Paris Lokotui for the first time.

Walmsley made an impact in this year’s ANZ Premiership with Te Wānanga o Raukawa Pulse where her form earned her a regular starting spot in the shooting circle in her second fully contracted season with the side.

Experienced Silver Fern shooter Te Paea Selby-Rickit was unavailable for the international season.

Burley is elevated into the Silver Ferns squad following her time in the development squad and another strong season for the Southern Steel in the ANZ Premiership where she was recognised for her aerial game.

The 26-year-old has had to bide her time for a crack in the Silver Ferns and the opportunity has opened up with defender Sulu Fitzpatrick retiring from all netball.

Lokotui, who was named 2021 Aspiring Silver Fern, has previously been part of the wider Silver Ferns squad and was named in the 2021 Taini Jamison Trophy team, but did not take to the court.

Capital Swish's Paris Lokotui during the women's NBL semi final in 2020.

Paris Lokotui has also played in the women’s National Basketball League.
Photo: Photosport

It is the 21-year-old’s first time back in the New Zealand high performance programme since rupturing her ACL during the 2022 ANZ Premiership season.

Midcourter Peta Toeva has been promoted back into the Silver Ferns squad.

Gina Crampton was not considered for selection having announced that she is taking some time away from the game.

Netball New Zealand’s national selectors also confirmed a Silver Ferns development squad which features a number of new faces, along with some experienced campaigners making a return.

Experienced midcourter Shannon Saunders returns to the high performance programme after becoming a first-time mother earlier this year.

Saunders brings 91 Test caps back to the development squad, having last played for the Silver Ferns at the Commonwealth Games at Birmingham 2022 before missing this year’s domestic league while on maternity leave.

Former Silver Fern Michaela Sokolich-Beatson has also been named in the development squad, after battling back from two achilles injuries.

Young defenders Parris Mason and Carys Stythe have been named for the first time, along with shooter Amorangi Malesala after a fine season with the Stars.

Silver Ferns head coach Dame Noeline Taurua said it was exciting to finalise the squads for 2023/24 season, particularly moving into a new cycle following the Netball World Cup.

Kate Burley of the Steel

Kate Burley of the Steel

“We have a few experienced players who are unavailable for selection for the upcoming year while we welcome and support Shannon back into the Silver Ferns development squad as a new mum,” she said.

“Amelia and Kate have earned their spots in the Silver Ferns squad through their consistency on the ANZ Premiership court this year. Paris was identified as a future Silver Fern prior to her ACL injury. Her ability to get back out on court for Tactix after that particular injury shows testament to her character and work ethic.

“It’s exciting to know most of these current squad members have the potential to be around for a few Netball World Cup cycles. These squads are demonstrating the new generation of players coming through and the depth we have been building over numerous years. This is our opportunity to bring them together to work towards a common goal.”

Midcourter Sam Winders was unavailable for selection as she is taking a break from netball.

Silver Ferns teams to play in next month’s Taini Jamison Trophy and October’s Constellation Cup will be selected later this week.



  • Grace Nweke
  • Ameliaranne Ekenasio
  • Maia Wilson
  • Tiana Metuarau
  • Amelia Walmsley


  • Maddy Gordon
  • Kate Heffernan
  • Mila Reuelu-Buchanan
  • Whitney Souness
  • Peta Toeava


  • Karin Burger
  • Kate Burley
  • Kelly Jury
  • Phoenix Karaka
  • Paris Lokotui
  • Jane Watson


  • Tayla Earle
  • Georgia Heffernan
  • Fa’amu Ioane
  • Amorangi Malesala
  • Parris Mason
  • Kimiora Poi
  • Shannon Saunders
  • Michaela Sokolich-Beatson
  • Carys Stythe
  • Elle Temu*

*Contracted until 31 December, 2023 as per international eligibility criteria

Denial of responsibility! is an automatic aggregator around the global media. All the content are available free on Internet. We have just arranged it in one platform for educational purpose only. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials on our website, please contact us by email – at The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Read original article here

Leave A Reply